What Have I Gotten Myself Into?

Whew, this may take longer than I thought!  My wife says the car doesn’t look as good in person as it did in the pictures.  I think she may just have a tinge of hard feelings because she lost her parking space in the garage.  However, I couldn’t ask for a better wife.  She will keep me on my toes and keep this project moving along.  Thanks Babe for putting up with me and my toys!

Dad and Mom brought the car down last night and he drove it off the trailer and backed it into the garage.  I took a slew of pictures this morning to document where this project started, not to mention the fact that I may need them once I start trying to put it back together.
I’m going to spend the next few days looking over the car, doing some reading, and attempt to come up with a step by step plan to tackle this restoration.  I also need to build a workbench and purchase a few tools I know I will need.  I hope you enjoy keeping up with this as much as I am. Considering the car is 57 years old and has had very little work done to it, I think it’s in great shape.  All of the original parts are intact with the exception of one trim piece on the passenger door.  The transmission, carburetor and exhaust have been rebuilt.  Everything else is original.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in 53 Buick Restoration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment